The number

The number has arrived so there is no turning back now! I don’t want to quit now, but I am feeling nervous. I kind of feel like I need to do really well especially after I’ve put it out there for everyone to read (my own fault!).

It’s alright though. It was good to put it out there and make myself accountable for my own health. Making that decision to take control of your body and mind is very liberating.

IMG_9412

Simon and I went for a short run yesterday morning (not too much the week before the big race), with Lily going ahead of us on her bike. It was a glorious morning with the sun shinning and just a gentle breeze to keep us cool. Loads of people of all different abilities were out running. Couples, groups, runners on their own, fast runners, beginners…all taking control of their bodies! It was a lovely sight.

Simon did 2.5k with me then stopped at the Canadian flag to meet the Shorefit running club. Left alone with Lily well ahead of me I thought for minute that I just couldn’t be bothered. Everything felt sore. I just wanted to walk.
What a silly thing it would be to give up now after all this hard work. It was the first day all week that my face didn’t hurt. Just keep going…you’ve got this.

I am responsible for my own happiness, health and wellbeing. I am responsible for what I put on my plate and for putting on my trainers and going for a run.

Look out for number 356 crossing the finish line of June 5th, if you blink, you might miss it!

Photo credit: Worthing 10k website

5 thoughts on “The number

Leave a comment